Egypt

SEKEM

Visiting SEKEM, there was an exchange with Ibrahim Abouleish and Madjid Abdellaziz about various sustainable methods to revive the desert.
Ibrahim Abouleish is an Egyptian chemist and businessman who is committed to the social and material development of Egypt within the framework of the SEKEM initiative founded by him and who has created a large empire in the middle of the desert.
Abouleish was awarded the Right Livelihood Award (Alternative Nobel Prize) in 2003.
The common thought, the love for nature and people connects SEKEM and Desert-Greening until today in friendship and partnership.
Abouleish studied technical chemistry in Graz from 1956. In 1960 he married a woman from Graz with whom he has two children. Abouleish received his doctorate in technical chemistry in 1969 and subsequently worked in a leading position in industrial pharmaceutical research.

During a visit to Egypt in 1977, he was depressed by the country's problems (lack of education, overpopulation, environmental pollution). In the same year he returned home and founded the development initiative SEKEM on 70 hectares of desert about 47 kilometres northeast of Cairo.

SEKEM (ancient Egyptian hieroglyph: "sunlike vitality") is today the market leader in organic agriculture and herbal remedies. The company is promoting the nationwide use of biodynamic cultivation methods with environmentally compatible pest control, especially in cotton cultivation. It runs schools, work and education programmes, a medical centre and an academy for applied arts and sciences.
(Source: Wikipedia)

aegypten

News!

Ägypten

SEKEM

Zu Besuch Bei SEKEM kam es zu einem Austausch mit Ibrahim Abouleish und Madjid Abdellaziz, über verschiedenste nachhaltige Verfahren um die Wüste wieder zu beleben.
Ibrahim Abouleish ist ein ägyptischer Chemiker und Unternehmer, der sich im Rahmen der von ihm gegründeten SEKEM Initiative für die soziale und materielle Entwicklung Ägyptens einsetzt und ein grosses Reich mitten in der Wüste geshcaffen hat.
Abouleish wurde 2003 mit dem Right Livelihood Award (Alternativer Nobelpreis) ausgezeichnet.
Das gemeinsame Gedankengut, die Liebe zur Natur und den Menschen verbindet SEKEM und Desert-Greening bis Heute in Freund- und Partnerschaft.
Abouleish studierte ab 1956 Technische Chemie in Graz. 1960 heiratete er eine Grazerin, mit der er zwei Kinder hat. Abouleish promovierte 1969 in technischer Chemie und arbeitete anschließend in führender Position in der industriellen Arzneimittelforschung.

Während eines Ägypten-Besuchs 1977 bedrückten ihn die Probleme des Landes (Bildungsnotstand, Überbevölkerung, Umweltverschmutzung). Er kehrte noch im selben Jahr in seine Heimat zurück und gründete die Entwicklungsintiative SEKEM auf 70 Hektar Wüste etwa 47 Kilometer nordöstlich von Kairo.

SEKEM (altägyptische Hieroglyphe: „sonnenhafte Lebenskraft“) ist heute Marktführer in der biologischen Landwirtschaft und pflanzlichen Heilmitteln. Das Unternehmen forciert den landesweiten Einsatz biologisch-dynamischer Anbaumethoden mit einer umweltverträglichen Schädlingsbekämpfung, insbesondere beim Baumwollanbau. Es betreibt Schulen, Arbeits- und Erziehungsprogramme, ein medizinisches Zentrum und eine Akademie für angewandte Kunst und Wissenschaften.
(Quelle: Wikipedia)

aegypten